top of page
Search
  • galaxytenants

Reflecting on 50 Episodes of Galaxy Tenants

Words by J. Picard Let me start by saying, new episodes of the podcast are on the way! It’s been over a year since we’ve released an episode of Galaxy Tenants. I’ve missed these conversations, exploring new music and sharing stories. It’s not that I haven’t wanted to create new episodes. It’s not that I haven’t had the time, but creativity is a weird thing. In listening recently to old episodes, I fell back in love with the project. I found the conversations to be engaging and very human. I laughed, I cried and felt a spark of creativity that I haven’t felt in over a year. In listening back, here are five of my favorite "must listen to episodes" of Galaxy Tenants:

1. Fred Penner | Episode 050: As a child I grew up watching "Mr. Penner" on Canadian Broadcast. He was one of the first people that inspired me musically and his impact on children across North America is immeasurable. This conversation meant so much to me and I was thrilled with how the episode turned out. We talked about his history, his life, his television show and his favorite moments. It was emotional. It was beautiful. It was deep and I was able to tell Fred how much he meant to me. From the first 50 episodes of Galaxy Tenants, this podcast really stands out as a favorite. Musical Guest: Five Alarm Funk feat. Fred Penner


2. Andrew Wyatt | Burning Man Chronicles | Episode 047: "Though I lost me religion, I didn't lose my spirit. And my spirit was always present in the Black Rock Desert..." - Andrew Wyatt

Though this episode started as a conversation with one of my favorite photographers who shoots Burning Man annually, it turned into a conversation with a former Southern Baptist preacher who's life changed when he found the Burn. The podcast features wonderful stories from a man with a fascinating background and a passion for service. Andrew's stories are passionately communicated and paint the possibility of Black Rock City and loosing one's religion...

Musical Guest: Giant Walking Robot


3. Jen Hartswick (Trey Anastasio Band) | Episode 020: Jen is one of my favorite humans! She is an incredible musician and about as professional as they come when it comes to the business side of things. I've had the pleasure of working with Jen over the years and she even played my wedding with a collection of incredible musicians! In this episode we discuss her favorite and least favorite aspects of touring. We discuss Trey leaving a message on her family's answering machine asking if it was of if Jen joined his band. We discuss Super Jams and put together our favorite collection of musicians! In listening back, I really loved this episode, not to mention Jen's version of Radiohead's "Creep," sent shivers down my spine.

Musical Guest: Marco Benevento, Jen Hartswick & Nick Cassarino


4. "Builder" Bill Ammon (The Range - Slab City) | Episode 008: "So I walked out on the slabs to air-dry and I looked up to the sky and the stars were looking down with their perfect pinpoint eyes and I said 'well you've decided that I have to live here, but how the hell is a guy gonna meet a girl in a desolate ass town like this?' And the stars looked down upon me and said 'What are you going to do about it?' Now I swear that's a true story whether it happened in the cosmos or in my brain..." - Bill Ammon I first found out about The Range, the desolate venue amidst the chaos of Slab City, in the film Into The Wild. From there I found a plethora of documentaries and shorts on YouTube that clued me in on the mind behind the venue, Bill Ammon. Bill is a natural story teller and man does he have stories to tell. In this episode we discuss his past and how he came to find "The Slabs." We discuss his building of The Range and some of his favorite stories from the venue's past. The episode deep dives into the culture and politics, or lack there of, in Slab City. In listening back to this episode, I loved hearing such a jovial laugh from a man with limited material possessions, an incredible perspective and amazing life lived.

Musical Guest: Naryan Padmanabha


5. UFO Chronicles - Part One | Episode 023: Disclosure is here. In revisiting the UFO Chronicles series, I heard the stories in a new light. This collection of experiences paints a fascinating and vivid picture of the potential UFO/UAP sightings. The podcast contains the perfect combination of fear, reflection and humor and left me wanting more! Luckily there is a Part Two! Musical Guest: Henhouse Prowlers

17 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page