top of page
Search
  • galaxytenants

Trip Report: JAD's Mile High Smoke


Words by J. Picard

Photos by Carly & J. Picard


“Come writers and critics who prophesize with your pen, and keep your eyes wide the chance won’t come again. And don’t speak too soon for the wheel’s still in spin and there’s no tellin’ who that it’s namin’. For the loser now will be later to win, for the times they are a changin’...” -Bob Dylan


While America’s for-profit prison system rages on across parts of the south and the bible belt, sensible distribution and consumption laws are popping up in more progressive forward thinking portions of the country. In places like Colorado, where cannabis legalization first took shape and where the gold standard was set via Amendment 64, progress continues and whereas out of towners could purchase cannabis, there was no designated, legal space to consume it. Until now.


Enter JAD’s Mile High Smoke. For months I’ve been observing from afar as the vision took shape. Over the course of that time I had been communicating with a nameless individual via the business’ Facebook page. Every month or two I’d check in and was given updates on the build out, event plans and loose timeframes for opening and it truly felt like I was witnessing history in the making. A couple of weeks ago at the end of April 2022, this new experiment in social cannabis consumption opened its doors.


As if I was fully vested in this project and plan (I am not), I was nervous. From the get-go I wanted to see this vision succeed. I wanted it to be something that was so perfect that it would be replicated across the country. I wanted so badly for the result of the owners’ vision to not end up feeling like so many trashy, lowest common denominator cannabis events often feel. I wanted JAD's to be respectable and higher-end, as I feel the vision of cannabis as a whole should be. For a week and a half, I stood back wanting the staff and business to catch their stride before going in to experience something that was all together new to me. I wanted my first impression to be a good one.


On Friday, May 6 at 7:20 PM after a delightful meal at Fritangas Mexican Restaurant just up Washington Street, we pulled into the parking lot of the unassuming cannabis lounge. The signage on the door was not dissimilar to entering a dispensary. I pulled open the door expecting smoke to waft out and to be slapped in the face with the overwhelming smell of marijuana set ablaze and that was not at all the case. Upon entering, the place had a new, clean and inviting aroma. Once inside the door, I took in the full 180 degree perspective of the room. Off to the right was a bar with stools arranged in an orderly fashion waiting to be occupied. To our left was a large room full of squeaky clean tables each with an ashtray awaiting consumers. Along the perimeter of the room there were colorful lights, arcade games and big screen TVs.

We made a b-line to the bar where the smiling staff greeted us and checked our IDs. Immediately, I launched into a range of questions decades in the making about “how this works” and “what kind of cannabis” and on and on. I was excited. Owner, Stacey Davis, came out to welcome us and to give us a tour of the site! But first I ordered two grams of Purple Burkle that was $18.00 ($23.95 after tax) and was given a tray, large rolling papers, tips and a lighter branded with a local cannabis company from the budtender. While rolling up a cannon, Stacey’s husband Josh came out to introduce himself and join in on the tour! With the cannon that I rolled fully lit and smoking, the tour commenced.


The first thing that struck me was how passionate Stacey and Josh were about their vision and how open they were in sharing their story and answering our questions of which there were many. No detail was spared and even the empty patio would be filled with brand new tables and umbrellas the following day. My mind was racing with the possibilities that the space provided and we were even let in on a couple of surprises that will cement the future of this incredible vision. It was all there, the complete package. Everything I had dreamed about and more with zero disappointment or “you should have done [insert idea with hindsight here].” It was a thing of beauty and for the first time in a long time, I was slapped in the face with freedom and actually proud to be an American, more specifically a Coloradan.

Back at the bar, Stacey showed us a variety of concentrates, some so stunning that it felt like they should have been in Smithsonian Magazine. Again, passion oozed from Stacey and nothing about the process of running through their products felt mechanical. Next we explored a variety of devices for which to use for consuming the cannabis you purchase on site. We had some questions about the membership levels, which are not needed for an individual to come in, purchase cannabis and smoke, but instead offered perks like use of specialty devices, exclusive access to vendor nights, product previews and more. As the sun set over the Denver skyline and the city lights began to glow, I ordered a couple more grams of flower and to be candid with you, I don’t recall which kind. I consume a lot of cannabis. But here is what I will say about the product: It was beautiful and covered with trichomes. It was delicious and had the precise desired effect. I was stoned and feeling delightful when Stacey told us about the snacks, landing us on a Raspberry Keef THC soda float with vanilla ice cream. “What a world we live in,” I mumbled.


I sat looking around the room taking it all in. The NHL playoffs were on the TV, music was playing over the house sound system, there was cannabis in the air and I thought to myself, “I think I found my new neighborhood bar.” The reality of the situation was that it was different than a bar. Better than a bar. The atmosphere felt lighter, people were laughing and conversing without yelling or any sort of nonsense. It was eye opening. I had a little bit of cannabis left on my tray that I couldn’t fit in the final joint so the budtender filled me in on the process of carrying out and we were on our way. For someone like myself who uses and advocates for cannabis as I do, it was a pivotal moment. It made me emotional. And here is where the story should end, but it doesn’t… The following morning my wife and I were on cloud nine. I posted photos on Instagram and Facebook, I gave them a five star Google review and uploaded some photos and I told a bunch of folks who enjoy cannabis on the same level that I do about the experience that we had. As we looked through photos we noticed that we missed capturing a bunch of the experience’s accouterments and we didn’t really scratch the service of the food menu. I’m not sure who brought up the idea of returning that night, and as if we needed an excuse, it was quickly agreed upon and the plan was set in motion.


That night around the same time as the previous evening’s visit, we returned to JAD’s, this time ready to tackle the munchies. We went in with a completely different energy, knowing what to expect on this visit and we were excited! We were welcomed by a different staff, outside of Jake, whom we met the night prior. I ordered a couple of grams to start, both recommended to me by the budtenders who took the time to run through just about every variety of cannabis on the shelf, and also seemed to take joy from the experience. I requested and was given smaller papers and tips so that I could enjoy each individual strain in single joints, as opposed to the hodge podge that was the night prior.


The Colorado Cream Soda was indeed creamy and we also dug I Smell Gas, an uplifting sativa. Again I found myself high and happy, looking around the room and taking in the magical experience. We checked out the patio that was adorned with brand new red chairs, frosted glass tables and black umbrellas. The impressive graffiti art of a bee perched on a flower appeared vibrantly under the lights of the patio. We watched a couple of NHL playoff games, one that was ending as the second began. We inquired about the food and really dove into the menu with the staff. We were cracking up at the options. There was a selection of cereal with milk, Belgium waffles, frozen pizzas, burritos, deserts and so much more. It was amazing and I jokingly asked who did their menu, a child? To which we laughed and agreed that the selections were perfect for a stoner, or a child.


The food came out exactly as described: Frozen items that were cooked in a convection oven. It wasn’t a five star meal. Instead, think of it like enjoying pizza rolls over video games after a fresh bong rip in your friend’s basement. It was perfect. With that said, there was also an excitement among the staff about having food trucks on site in the near future! For desert we ordered a hot fudge brownie with vanilla ice cream, chocolate and caramel that I dumped on top. This was the peak of my experience. As the clock drew closer to 9:00 PM, I consumed one final joint of what remained on the tray and we hit the old dusty trail south. As we made our way to the exit, the staff, ever in their quest to curate perfect hospitality, thanked us, offered to refill my soda for the road and told us they couldn’t wait to meet my folks who were coming into town that week.


We awoke once again excited about how the weekend had played out and I went right into posting photos on social media and telling my friends and family about my new happy place. If you enjoy cannabis and are looking for a new experience, this is it. It’s just the beginning of the story and from what I have seen and from what I have heard from the story’s characters, it’s going to be an incredible tale. One in which you’ll likely want to be a part of. Get ready, America! The future of social cannabis consumption is here…




43 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page